Coffee Cake Muffins

I like a good cup of coffee and a nice muffin to enjoy it with. Once I found this recipe on the handy-dandy Pinterest, I knew I had to try it out.

What You’ll Need:

For the muffin:

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar

  • 2 teaspoons baking powder

  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

  • 3/4 cup milk

  • 1/3 cup canola oil

  • 2 large eggs

For the crumb topping:

  • 1/3 cup granulated Sugar

  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar

  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

For the glaze topping:

  • 1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon milk

First, start by heating up your oven to 375 degrees fahrenheit. You can line your muffin tin if you want, but I only do that if I’m making cupcakes.

Next, you will want to make your crumb topping so it has a chance to dry up a little before putting on top of the muffins. What my finished topping looked like is below, you are supposed to use parchment paper but we didn’t have any at the time.

img_5282

Once your topping is set to the side to dry, you will want to start on the muffin batter. You’ll combine the dry ingredients first and then add the wet ingredients after. I used one bowl for this because I wanted to use less dishes, if you want to you can use two separate bowls for this step.

img_5283img_5284img_5285

Once your batter is combined, pour into your muffin tin.

fullsizerender-2

Once all your batter is in, pour over your crumb topping. I went a little heavy on the crumb topping because I like a little extra on my muffins.

fullsizerender-3

Next, put in your preheated oven for 15-17 minutes.

img_5288img_5289

Once out of the oven, let cool for 10 minutes and then put the glaze mixture on top.

img_5291

 

Hope you enjoy!

-Logie

Leave a Reply

