lemon glazed shortbread cookies

I found this recipe on the wonderful Pinterest and thought that I would give it a try, because who doesn’t like a quick and easy shortbread cookie??

First off, I did make a couple of tweaks to this recipe because I really like citrus flavors.

What you’ll need:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 sticks of softened, salted butter
  • 1/2 cup of powdered sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilaa
  • lemon juice and/or lemon zest

fullsizerender-2

I like to measure out the dry ingredient into containers so then all I have to do is dump it into the bowl. It makes me feel like I am on the Food Network.

img_4089

Combine butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla. (You can also add the lemon zest in if you want, but I would advise putting it with the glaze later on.) Then add the flour. If your dough is really dry and crumbly add a couple teaspoons of water to help.

Let chill in the fridge for atleast 30 minutes.

(This is when you really want to try the cookie dough, because who can wait 30 minutes??)

Once your dough is chilled, scoop the dough into balls (I used a little scoop for this).

img_4090

Smash the balls down a little bit, not too much or you’ll get thin and crispy cookies.

Bake for 12-15 minutes at 350 degrees.

Take off of tray when they come out of the oven and put on a piece of foil to cool.

Next up: lemon glaze!

img_4091

What you’ll want to do either while the cookies are in the oven or when you’re waiting for them to cool is make the glaze.

Show above is the indgredients: powdered sugar and lemon juice.

Combine them ingredients together, it’s not an exact science but make sure it’s thick enough to not run off the cookies but not thin enough that it looks like milk. Got it?

img_4092

Glaze after mixing. Then sprinkle over cookies with a fork or spoon.

img_4095

I go a little heavy on the glaze because, I like it that way. You can use as much or as little as you want. Once the glaze dries, I usually move them to a container or platter after trying a couple to make sure they are good.

-Logie

Leave a Reply

