#Food : Jalapeño Cream Cheese

In an attempt to use my skills in the kitchen, writing and photography, I have decided (and reinforced with a cool and hip Twitter poll) to start showing and teaching some of my favorite foods.

Today’s endeavor is Jalapeño Cream Cheese. I used to buy it at the store, but when I started going through two containers a week I quickly switched to making it myself.

Items you will need:

2 bricks of cream cheese

A jar of Jalapeños (you won’t use the whole thing, it can also be already diced)

Some way of mixing (I use a KitchenAid)

A sense of humor

A container to store it in

Alright, let’s get started:

 

IMG_3347

I usually pull the cream cheese right of the fridge and use it.

IMG_3348

If you like spicy spicy peppers, you can use those. The amount of hot and spicy is up to you.

IMG_3350

I usually just buy diced jalapeños in a jar, but this time we had rings so I just chopped and diced them myself.

IMG_3351

I drop about 2 tablespoons of the juice into the bottom of the bowl before I drop the bricks of cream cheese into the bowl.

IMG_3352

When dropping in cream cheese, do not have the mixer on. I drop the bricks in and then  start the mixer and let it go for a couple of minutes to make sure that the cream cheese is soft enough. I like mine a little on the ‘whipped and fluffy’ side.

IMG_3353

While waiting for the cream cheese to get fluffy, I chop the jalepenos. It’s up to you on how much pepper you want in your dip. I like the crunch of a pepper so I use about 1/3 cup or more of peppers. You can rough chop or make itty bitty peppers. Again, it’s how you like it.
IMG_3354

Add them peppers in.

IMG_3355

Let the mixer do it’s work. I usually stop it after a few minutes and form a ball with a rubber spatula and then let it go for a couple more minutes. That way I know all the cream cheese and peppers are mixed together.

IMG_3356

After I’m done mixing, I put it in a container. Yes, I taste test it before just in case I need a little more kick to it. IMG_3357

After I put it in a container, I like to put it in the fridge to let it groove together and get a little stiff.

IMG_3359

You can use with just about anything. I like it with pretzels, crackers, apples, spread on a bagel, vegetables, and swooped up on my finger. Whatever you like to dip with, it’ll probably work with.

Enjoy.

-Logie

Leave a Reply

