thnx

200-5.gif

IMG_2946.jpg

There are so many different ways to give thanks and today I want to give you all thanks.

Thank you for being you.

Thank you for helping bring joy into my life.

Thank you for the continuous support.

Thank you for all the times that you have helped me.

Thank you for the birthday wishes.

Thank you for helping me get my college degree.

Thank you for being a friend.

Thank you for being a sassy, sarcastic son of a gun.

Thanks for being the sun on a dark day.

Thanks for being here.

See there are so many things to be thankful for, but for me I have one thing I truly want to give thanks for: support.

Now I know you’re probably like “Ok Logie, you need to stop.”, but too bad that’s not going to happen.

I want to give everyone thanks for the support that they’ve given me all my life. Recently I turned 22 years old, graduated college and moved back home in a three day period.

As I sat in the graduation ceremony at 8:30 a.m. on a Saturday morning. As I began to look around and notice that in an arena where I was used to seeing seats full of basketball  fans, I now saw an areana full of fans of the graduates on the floor. Families, friends, educators, and an endless supply of support sat and watched as we walked across the stage to get our diploma covers. {The diploma cover is symbol of hard work for a four, five, six, maybe even a 20 year period to further our education.} We marched across that stage, shook a few hands, maybe got a hug from a professor, got our picture taken, and then went and sat down until the final person walked across that stage. This is what we’ve been counting down to since we started the adventure called ‘College’.

Some of you have been on this journey since the days of Pre-K, while others have just started with me. No matter how long we’ve known each other, you’ve made an impact on me and why I do what I do. You have been my biggest fans, and hopefully I have been a fan for your life and accomplishments. So THANK YOU x1,000.

——

One of the many things that I have learned in my life is to say ‘thanks’ or ‘thank you’. Sometimes it’s just habit, but I’ve learned that the habit of saying ‘thanks’ is a gesture not everyone extends. The meaning of thanks can be used as a verb: to express gratitude, appreciation, or acknowledgment to. Then as a noun: a grateful feeling or acknowledgment of a benefit,favor, or the like, expressed by words or otherwise.  Anytime that we give or grant thanks, we are expressing an emotion to another. Since we are are all human beings, we all deserve to give and receive thanks. So, as we all are starting off with a new summer season, I challenge all of you to start giving a unhabitual thanks to everyone that helps you or is a person in your life. 

-Logie

Leave a Reply

